Ames Semi-Final Round

The Ames Competition is one of the most prestigious competitions for appellate brief writing and advocacy in the country. The students participating in the Semi-Final Round started the competition in fall of this year, and rose to the final four spots through their strong research abilities and excellent written and oral advocacy.

This year’s competition will be held on the evenings of Monday, March 31, 2014, and Tuesday, April 1, 2014, beginning at 6:15 p.m. in the historic Ames Courtroom of Harvard Law School.

March 31st Argument Details:

Participating Teams:

The Franklin E. Kameny Memorial Team, Petitioner

  • Jennifer Garnett
  • Ezra Marcus, oralist
  • Katie McCarthy, oralist
  • Jordan Moran
  • Ivan Panchenko
  • Tom Ryan

The Honorable William Francis “Frank” Murphy Memorial Team, Respondent

  • Tucker DeVoe, oralist
  • Priyanka Gupta, oralist
  • Katherine Lynch
  • Andrew McBride
  • Joshua Stein
  • Christopher Sun

Wham Publishing Co. v. Friar County Elections Division, et al. - Case Documents


Appellant Brief

Appellee Brief

Appellant’s Reply Brief


April 1st Argument Details:

Participating Teams:

The Elliot L. Richardson Memorial Team, Petitioner

  • Jay Cohen
  • Cody Gray
  • Spencer Haught
  • Christina Martinez
  • Sean Mirski, oralist
  • Kevin Neylan, oralist

The Roger D. Fisher Memorial Team, Respondent

  • Matthew Catalano
  • Daniel Crossen
  • Andrea Matthews
  • John Miller
  • Andy Wang, oralist
  • Joshua Whitaker, oralist

People of the State of New Ames v. Flynn White – Case Documents


Petitioner’s Brief

Respondent’s Brief

Petitioner’s Reply Brief

For more information, please email