Officers


2014-2015 Chapter Officers

Charles Fried – Faculty Sponsor

image.jpgEducated at Princeton, Oxford and Columbia Law School, Charles Fried, the Beneficial Professor of Law, has been teaching at Harvard Law School since 1961. He was Solicitor General of the United States, 1985-89, and an Associate Justice of the Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts, 1995-99. His scholarly and teaching interests have been moved by the connection between normative theory and the concrete institutions of public and private law. During his career at Harvard he has taught Criminal Law, Commercial Law, Roman Law, Torts, Contracts, Labor Law, Constitutional Law and Federal Courts, Appellate and Supreme Court Advocacy. The author of many books and articles, his Anatomy of Values (1970), Right and Wrong (1978), and Modern Liberty (2006) develop themes in moral and political philosophy with applications to law. Contract as Promise (1980), Making Tort Law (2003, with David Rosenberg) and Saying What the Law Is: The Constitution in the Supreme Court (2004) are fundamental inquiries into broad legal institutions. Order & Law: Arguing the Reagan Revolution (1991) discusses major themes developed in Fried’s time as Solicitor General. In recent years Fried has taught Constitutional Law and Contracts. During his time as a teacher he has also argued a number of major cases in state and federal courts, most notably Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, in which the Supreme Court established the standards for the use of expert and scientific evidence in federal courts. Click here to view more.

 

May Davis – President
sdavis@jd15.law.harvard.edu

May.jpgMay Davis is a 3L from western Kansas.  Prior to becoming President, May was the VP for Social Activities. At her alma mater, the University of Kansas, May served as student body vice president, graduated number one in her class and Phi Beta Kappa with a degree in Journalism, and interned for former Senator Brownback. After graduation, May taught sixth grade through TFA in Kansas City and earned her master’s degree in Elementary Education. May worked as a summer associate for Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP during her 1L summer and for Latham & Watkins LLP during her 2L summer. After graduation, May will clerk for Judge Timothy Tymkovich of the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals in Denver, Colorado.

 

David Casazza – Executive Vice President
dcasazza@jd15.law.harvard.edu

Dave.jpgDavid Casazza is a 3L from Blooming Grove, New York. He received his A.B. in History from Princeton University in 2010, with a year spent studying at Oxford University (Pembroke College) along the way. Before coming to Harvard, David earned an M.A. in History from the Johns Hopkins University. After his 1L year, he worked as a law clerk for the Senate Judiciary Committee on the staff of Senator Mike Lee; following his 2L year, he worked as a summer associate at Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher in Washington, DC. David is a Managing Editor on the Harvard Journal of Law and Public Policy and a member of the Articles Board. After graduation, David will clerk for Judge Jennifer Elrod of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals in Houston, Texas.

 

Justin Gilio – Vice President of Membership
jgilio@jd16.law.harvard.edu

Justin.jpgJustin Gilio is a 2L who grew up in Fresno, California. He graduated from Santa Clara University summa cum laude with a B.S. in Economics and a minor in Spanish Studies. Prior to law school, Justin was a corporate paralegal for Fenwick & West LLP in the Silicon Valley, where he was part of the team that assisted with Facebook, Inc.’s initial public offering (IPO). Justin is currently a Staff Editor for the Harvard National Security Journal. He will be spending his 1L summer as a summer associate at DLA Piper in Palo Alto.

 

 

 

Lindsay Church – Vice President of Communications
lchurch@jd16.law.harvard.edu

Lindsay.jpg.jpgLindsay is a 2L from Jacksonville, Florida. She graduated summa cum laude from the University of South Carolina Honors College with a B.A. in Journalism and Mass Communications. Lindsay has worked in Governor Nikki Haley’s press office, private communications firms, and done media research for political advertising. She was appointed as the Communications Manager and also serves as a Senior Editor on the Harvard Journal of Law and Public Policy. Lindsay is also a visiting student at Oxford, conducting research with the Programme in Comparative Media Law & Policy. For her 1L summer, Lindsay received a human rights fellowship to work at the Media Legal Defence Initiative in London.

 

 

Josh Esses – Vice President of Speakers
jesses@jd16.law.harvard.edu

Josh.jpgJosh is a 2L from Stamford, Connecticut. He graduated with Highest Honors from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign with a B.S. in Finance. Prior to law school, Josh  worked as a Messenger for the Connecticut House Republicans in Hartford during the 2013 state legislative session. At HLS, he is the fearless captain of his section’s intramural basketball team, and the CFO of the Harvard Journal of Law and Public Policy. Josh spent his 1L summer with GFG Alternative Investments in Greenwich, Connecticut.

 

Sara Nommensen – Vice President of Social Activities
snommensen@jd16.law.harvard.edu

Sara.jpgSara is a 2L who grew up in Lake Forest, Illinois. She graduated magna cum laude from New York University’s Stern School of Business with a B.S. in Finance and Economics. Prior to law school, Sara worked as a management consultant in New York City. While at Harvard, she serves as an Editor of the Harvard Law Review and as a Student Attorney in the Harvard Prison Legal Assistance Project. During her 1L summer, Sara worked in the Criminal Division of the United States Attorney’s Office for the Eastern District of New York.

 

 

Peter Fritz – Development Chair
pfritz@jd16.law.harvard.edu

Peter.jpgPeter is a 2L from Rochester, Minnesota. He attended Carleton College, where he received his B.A. magna cum laude with distinction in History. Prior to law school, Peter spent five years at Goldman Sachs in New York and Hong Kong. He is currently an Editor of the Harvard Law Review. During his 1L summer, Peter worked in the Enforcement Division of the Securities and Exchange Commission in New York.

 

 

James Nelson – Legal Practice Chair
jnelson@jd16.law.harvard.edu

James.jpgJames is a 2L from Indian Wells, California. In 2013, he received his B.A. in Government, International Politics and Policy, from Patrick Henry College, summa cum laude. James serves as an Editor on the Harvard Law Review and as a Research Assistant for Ed Whelan, President of the Ethics and Public Policy Center. After his 1L year, he worked at Bancroft PLLC in Washington, D.C.

 

 

Nikolai Krylov – Academics Chair
nkrylov@jd15.law.harvard.edu

Nikolai.jpg.jpgNikolai is a 3L from New York. He is a Managing Editor of the Harvard Journal of Law and Public Policy.

 

 

 

 

 

Dennis Mahoney – Colloquium Chair
dmahoney@jd16.law.harvard.edu

Dennis.jpg.jpgDennis is a 2L from Baltimore, Maryland. He graduated from Notre Dame, where he majored in Medieval Studies and was an offensive tackle on the school’s  football team. Dennis has also interned on Capitol Hill with both Senator  John Cornyn and Speaker John Boehner. For his 1L summer, Dennis was a Blackstone Legal Fellow at the Senate Judiciary Committee.

 

 

 

 

Andrew Ellis – Treasurer
aellis@jd16.law.harvard.edu

Andrew.jpgAndrew is a 2L from St. Joseph, Missouri. He earned degrees in Economics and Political Science from the University of Missouri, magna cum laude and Phi Beta Kappa. Before coming to law school, Andrew was an analyst at the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City. At Harvard, Andrew was an actor in the Parody Production of The Lawyer King and served as an Editor for the Human Rights Journal. In the summer after his 1L year, Andrew worked at the United States Attorney’s Office in St. Louis.

 

 

 

2014-2015 Chapter Deputies

1L Outreach Deputy: Tristan Manley
tmanley@jd16.law.harvard.edu
Communications Deputy: Emily Deddens
ededdens@jd15.law.harvard.edu
Community Service Deputy: Stefan Hasselblad
shasselblad@jd15.law.harvard.edu
DC Alumni Coordinator: Nicholas Dube
ndube@jd16.law.harvard.edu
Deputy of Clerkship Resources: Erin Cady
ecady@jd16.law.harvard.edu
Deputy of Course-Related Resources: Rebecca Jeffries
rjeffries@jd16.law.harvard.edu
Deputy of Speakers: James David Williams
jwilliams@jd16.law.harvard.edu
EIP Book Coordinator: Jason St. John
jstjohn@jd15.law.harvard.edu
Events Co-Deputies: Paige Burroughs and Jessica Helmers
pburroughs@jd16.law.harvard.edu
jhelmers@jd15.law.harvard.edu
External Communications Deputy: Rick Corbett
rcorbett@jd15.law.harvard.edu
External Faculty Outreach Coordinator: Spencer Churchill
schurchill@jd15.law.harvard.edu
Internal Communications Deputy: Cece Xie
cxie@jd16.law.harvard.edu
Internal Faculty Outreach Coordinator: May Chow
mchow@jd15.law.harvard.edu
Membership Co-Deputies: Brook Jackling and Jon Gartner
bjackling@jd16.law.harvard.edu
jgartner@jd16.law.harvard.edu
Moot Court Director: Jeff Long
jlong@jd15.law.harvard.edu
New York Alumni Coordinator: Rachel Siegel
rseigel@jd15.law.harvard.edu
Texas Alumni Coordinator: Daniela Gutierrez
dgutierrez@jd16.law.harvard.edu
zv7qrnb