Past Speakers

Harvard European Law Association has been honored to host at Harvard Law School many distinguished and well-known politicians, economists, lawyers, diplomats and scholars that either practice in Europe or are Europe-focused in their professional lives. Among them are:
  • José Manuel Durão Barroso – President of the European Commission,
  • Koen Lenaerts – Vice-President of the Court of Justice of the European Union,
  • Paul Boateng – British High Commissioner to South Africa,
  • Robert Cooper – Director General for External and Politico-Military Affairs at the Council of the European Union,
  • Joschka Fischer – former Vice Chancellor and Foreign Minister of Germany,
  • Lech Garlicki – judge of the European Court of Human Rights,
  • Manuel Antonio Gomes de Almeida de Pinho – Minister of Economy and Innovation of Portugal,
  • Dieter Grimm – former Justice of the Constitutional Court of Germany,
  • Marko Ilešic – judge of the European Court of Justice,
  • Petr Kolar – Czech Ambassador to the United States,
  • Richard Morningstar – former US Ambassador,
  • John T. Noonan, Jr. – Justice of the US Court of Appeals for the 9th Circuit,
  • Angelos Pangratis – deputy head of the European Commission Delegation to the US,
  • Esa Passarvita – legal advisor at the European Commission Delegation to the UN,
  • Andris Pielbalgs – Commissioner for Energy, Commission of the European Union,
  • Luís Miguel Poiares Pessoa Maduro – Advocate General of the European Court of Justice
  • Jacek Saryusz-Wolski – Chairman of Committee on Foreign Affairs, European Parliament,
  • Jamie Shea – Policy Planning Director at the Secretary General’s office, NATO,
  • Chiara Zilioli – Deputy General Counsel, European Central Bank.